Concept Statement Project

  • Name your intended audience (the person(s) you need to persuade.) Prospective employers
  • Describe what you need to inform and persuade them of: My work and the types of work I have done
    • To promote my: Style and skills
    • The goals of the site are: Promote my work, showcasing my abilities
    • The ultimate message/philosophy (about who you are): Professional and fun
    • What is the story you are telling? 
    • What descriptive words can you use to describe the ‘vibe’ of your site: slate, clean, fun
  • Write a 200 word concept statement based on the user, your persuasion, navigation and the assets.
  • List the assets you need to persuade the user: Which 7 (minimum) projects? scans of what?, photos of what objects? images from what computer graphics program? what descriptive text? list them. Game Over, card game prototype, both outputted to web-friendly files, originating form Ps or Ai. More to come.
  • For the purpose of structuring your website portfolio pages, list the categories of work you will show. Logo development, illustration, Case Studies

Concept Statement:

I would like my nav to remain static at the top of my site. I plan on including Work, Contact, and Resume as my main sections; Work being the home page. I also want a start page that shows my logo for around three seconds before going to the Work/Home page.

I plan on using dark grays and maybe even some browns as the colors for my site. I’d also like to create a pattern for the background, something geometrical in two colors; shapes with outline and fill. Simple and clean.

The feel of my sight, and maybe my style, could be described as weathered, worn in but comfortable, like a good pair of shoes. Strong, metallic, aged. Value from age.

I am not sure what I want to do in my career. I am not even sure what I am good at yet. I feel unqualified to say, e.g., that I want to be an illustrator, when in fact I may be a bad one. I just know I am still honing my skills. For now, any job I could get would be a blessing.

I have a good logo project I did for Game Over Video Games that I will showcase. It includes some collateral pieces. I also want to include a card project I did early on in my career as a student. Other work will be put on the site as I find it and I deem it worthy.

 

Leave a comment